News > Ambassador of Norway Henrik Ofstad Winner of the “European Speech of the Year”

Article Details:

  • 13th May 2015 - 13:51 GMT

Ambassador of Norway Henrik Ofstad Winner of the “European Speech of the Year”

Zagreb, 12 May, 2015 – Ambassador of Norway to Croatia, H. E Mr. Henrik Ofstad, has received the “European speech of the year” award for 2015. The award is given for the initiative and organization displayed by the opening speech at the conference “Norway and Croatia: Partners in the economy and social development” which was held on 26 January 2015 in the Journalists’ Association in Zagreb. The winning speech is selected on the grounds of how it promotes the goals and values ​​that promote the European Movement Croatia and Europe House Zagreb.

Mr. Dubravko Miholić, President of the European House Zagreb and European Movement Croatia presented H. E Mr. Henrik Ofstad with a sculpture by the artist, Krešimir Rod, which symbolises Croatia in the European Union.

Mr. Dubravko Miholić expresses his graduate to the Ambassador for his cooperation and for his insightful presentation on relations between Norway and Croatia, and also for developing stronger relations between the two countries.

In the past twenty-five years of work, Europe House Zagreb and the European Movement Croatia have played an important role in raising awareness of the Croatian public about the value and necessity of European integration, as well as educating and informing Croatian citizens on the history of Europe and the very idea of the European Union.

The award for European Speech of the Year in the Republic of Croatia has been awarded regularly since 2003, on the occasion of Europe Day, and is the highest award granted by the European Movement Croatia, who are full members of the European Movement International, Brussels.

The winners of previous years are: Neven Mimica, The Minister of European Integration; Ph. D. Ivo Sanader, ex-Prime Minister of Croatia; HE. E. g. Ján Petrík, Ambassador of the Slovak Republic in the Republic of Croatia; Stjepan Mesić, President of the Republic of Croatia; Kolinda Grabar Kitarović, Croatian Minister of Foreign Affairs and European Integration; Prof. Ph. D.. Pero Lučin, Vice Chancellor of the University of Rijeka and a member of the Negotiating Team for the accession negotiations of Croatia and the EU; Erhard Busek, Director of the Institute for the Danube Region Central Europe in Vienna; Prof. Ph. D.. Ivo Josipović, President of the Republic of Croata; Ph. D. Boris Vujčić, the Governor of the Croatian National Bank; and, Mr. Mayor Milan Bandić in Zagreb.

No comments

Your email will not be published
Cancel reply