News > Women of Europe Award Ceremony 2017

Article Details:

Women of Europe Award Ceremony 2017

On 29 November 2017, the European Movement International and the European Women’s Lobby hosted the second edition of the Women of Europe Awards, which took place at the BELvue Museum in Brussels.

Take a look at the press release to find out more about the reaction from our winners and jury.

Commissioner Margrethe Vestager, who was winner of the Women of Europe Awards 2016, handed over the awards with the other members of the jury. The winners of the four categories are:

Woman in Power 2017
Federica Mogherini, High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security

Woman in Action 2017
Adriana Lettrari, Co-Founder of the Third Generation of Eastern Germany Network

Woman in Business 2017
Melody Hossaini, Founder and CEO of InspirEngage International

Woman in Youth Activism 2017
Mina Jaf, Founder and Executive Director of Women Refugee Route

Watch Federica Mogherini’s acceptance speech here:

Who were the shortlisted candidates? 

Read their stories here.

The jury

The winners were selected by the the jury of nine, which included representatives from politics, business, academia and civil society.


Photos from the event can be found below:

29.11.2017 - Women of Europe Awards 2017


The Women of Europe Awards are organised by the European Movement International and the European Women’s Lobby, building upon the national awards of several National Councils of the European Movement. The awards are handed out annually to honour women striving to advance the European project in their professional or private capacity. The role of women in the European project remains largely unrecognised. The awards highlight the contribution of women in promoting and advancing European issues, and to increase their presence and involvement in debates about Europe and its future. This year, the Woman in Youth Activism category is organised in cooperation with the European Youth Forum.

No comments

Your email will not be published
Cancel reply