Events > Women of Europe Awards

Event Details:

  • 1st December 2016
  • Brussels, Belgium
  • Rue du Méridien 10 Saint Josse
EMI Events

Women of Europe Awards

This event has now taken place. Find out who won the Women of Europe Awards here.

The Women of Europe Awards is a new initiative by the European Movement International and the European Women’s Lobby, building upon the national awards of several National European Movement Councils. The awards will be handed out to honour women striving to advance the European project in their professional or private capacity. The role of women in the European project remains largely unrecognised, and the awards will highlight the contribution of women in promoting and advancing European issues, and to increase the presence and involvement of women in debates about Europe and its future.

For the first edition of the Award in December 2016, there are two prize categories:

  • Jury’s Award: Woman in Power
    For women showing extraordinary leadership on a European level
  • Members’ Award: Woman in Action
    For women undertaking extraordinary actions at grass-root level in Europe

You can read more about our shortlisted candidates here.

A Jury composed of high-level stakeholders from the cultural, social, media and political sectors and the members of the European Movement International and the European Women’s Lobby will choose the two award receivers.

The composition of the jury is as follows:

  • Anna Diamantopoulou, President of the Greek think-tank To Diktio, former European Commissioner for Employment, Social Affairs and Equal Opportunities
  • Maria Arena MEP, Member of the Committee on Women’s Rights and Gender Equality
  • Daniela Vincenti, Editor-in-Chief at EurActiv
  • Rick Zedník, Chief Executive Officer of the Women in Parliaments Global Forum
  • Eva Paunova MEP, EMI Vice-President
  • Pauline Mukanza, EWL Board Member

The nominees for the Woman in Power Award are:

  • Catherine Day
  • Anne Hidalgo
  • Federica Mogherini
  • Marianne Thyssen
  • Margrethe Vestager

The nominees for the Woman in Action Award are:

  • Adela Ionela Dinu
  • Annemarie Jorritsma-Lebbink
  • Esmeralda Romanez
  • Nadiya Savchenko
  • Dr. Edit Schlaffer

The evening will be hosted by Jacki Davis.


Event Sponsors:



Media Partner:



Find out more about this event:

  1. Erna.jonckheere
    Erna.jonckheere November 8th,2016 21:38:01 Comment #182

    Hallo,ik kom graag naar jullie event

Your email will not be published
Cancel reply