The European Movement International employs a professional secretariat that is based in Brussels. The secretariat works on a daily basis to implement the decisions of the Members Council, Federal Assembly and board of the European Movement International, under the direction of the Secretary General.

Petros Fassoulas

Petros has been the Secretary General of the European Movement International since July 2015.

Christian Skrivervik

Christian is in charge of all aspects of EMI’s external communications. This includes, amongst others, strategy and narrative development, press work, social media management, as well as the production and design of online and print materials.

Barbara Perfetti

Barbara is the Finance and Administration Manager.She moved to Brussels in 2016 to join the exciting world of European associations working in a trade association.

Alex Pitts

Alex is responsible for the production and deployment of EMI’s digital engagement, including but not limited to design elements, event direction, video production, web development and technical solutions.

Maja Bobić

Ms. Maja Bobić is an anthropologist with an MA in Southeast European Studies conferred at the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece.

Federico Terreni

Federico Terreni joined the European Movement International in September 2019.

Ines Ayyadi

Inès joined the EMI as the Events and Projects officer in October 2021. She is in charge of organising events and supporting in the delivery of EMI’s long-term projects.

Sebastian Rodriguez

He has experience running pan-European grassroots campaigns and in digital strategy and organising.

Aimee Duprat-Macabies

Aimée Duprat-Macabies joined the European Movement International in March 2022 and is supporting the advocacy and policy work of the organisation.

Emanuel Ferreira

Communications and Events Officer. He is involved in the development of EMI’s communication strategy to improve the efficacy of its outreach.



follow us!


The European Movement is managed by a Board that is composed of the President, Secretary General and Treasurer, six Vice-Presidents and twelve other members all elected by the Federal Assembly of the European Movement.
The EMI Board comprises 3 Working Groups:
  • Monitoring the agenda of external institutions, partners and competitors
  • Profiling the organisation: Public Affairs
  • Financing, fundraising and legal framework
The Board seeks to fairly represent the various elements of the European Movement, in particular its youth member organisations, and a fair distribution of seats between nationality, age, gender, political orientation and representation of civil society.

Francisco Aldecoa Luzárraga

Francisco Aldecoa Luzárraga is a university professor who has dedicated his whole life to the study of European integration

Olivier Hinnekens

Olivier Hinnekens has a long standing history with the European Movement International, having previously served on the Board as both Vice-President and Treasurer.

Frédéric Vallier

Frédéric Vallier has been a member of the EMI Board since 2012, and is now serving his second term as Vice-President.

Valeria Ronzitti

Valeria Ronzitti has been the General Secretary of SGI Europe since 2012, after nine years of experience as a legal advisor, Head of Social Affairs, and Director.

Roselyne Lefrançois

Roselyne Lefrançois was first elected EMI Board Member in 2014 and was subsequently re-elected in 2017 and in 2020.

Yves Bertoncini

Yves Bertoncini is President of the European Movement France. He is also a consultant and professor on European Affairs.

Nataša Owens

Nataša Owens has been involved with the European Movement since 2003, and has served as both President of the Supervisory Board and President of the Executive Board of the EM Croatia.

Brando Benifei

Brando Benifei MEP is a member of the Socialists & Democrats (S&D), representing Partito Democratico in Italy.

Petros Fassoulas

Petros has been the Secretary General of the European Movement International since July 2015.

EMI political committees

Most of the content-based activities of the EMI are developed by, or at least originate from the Work of the three Political Committees, which for the years 2021-2023 have been restructured in line with European Movement’s Strategic Priorities. These Political Committees will meet on the fringes of any Statutory Meetings and whenever deemed necessary, and are open to all members of the European Movement International. The participation in the Political Committees is limited to one representative per member organisation.
The Political Committees can cooperate and/or suggest and initiate projects which are relevant to more than one of them. The Political Committees can delegate parts of their work to specific members. Their main purpose is to determine the lobbying positions that the EMI will defend in the name of its members vis-à-vis the European institutions.
The current political committees are:

What we stand for

A sentence summarising what we stand for in a very positive way.

EMI structure

The European Movement International is comprised of many different organisational bodies that allow it to function:
Scroll to Top